Trust is a Must

Trust /trəst/ (noun) : assured reliance on the character, ability, strength, or truth of someone or something

IMG_9977

While trust is an easy concept to grasp, putting it into action can be challenging. According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, trust is “assured reliance on the character, ability, strength, or truth of someone or something.” Sometimes it is easy to trust; we trust our cars to get us to work, our jobs to provide income, our doctors to diagnose our illnesses, and our smartphones to keep track of our lives. Other times it is not so easy to trust; it’s difficult to trust people who have broken promises, weather predictions, and old swinging bridges. When we trust God we are relying on Him to meet our needs whether they are food to nurture our bodies, finances to support our families, or strength and courage to execute His plans. You must place your needs (no matter how big or small) in the hands of Christ, and He will provide.

This summer I am participating in an eight week mission project (City Project). I am having to put my trust in God that He will provide all that I need for this trip including paperwork, vaccinations, and financial support ($4900) [Read more about my project here]. As a college student, with limited funds, trusting in God to provide the money is a difficult thing to do. I had doubts about raising the money, and getting everything done in time, but God has proven to me that if I put my trust in Him, He will take care of my needs. Philippians 4:19 says, And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.”

Philippians 4:19

And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

This past week I have been on spring break, and I have spent my time getting medical records together, getting vaccinations, and most importantly, speaking at churches. I talked to several local churches about my mission project, and how they can support me through prayer and finances. While I knew God was going to provide for this trip, I had no idea how quickly He would! I am very close to my support goals, and I have only been support raising for two weeks. God is moving so rapidly, and I am trying to keep up with how quickly He is moving in my life.

I feel so full of love, and my cup is running over with His grace and support. God has blessed me through this mission opportunity and through some local churches in Western North Carolina. I would not be able to participate in the mission project if it were not for the churches who have provided support. It reminds me of when Jesus multiplied the fish. I contributed towards my trip and did the work He asked me to do, and God multiplied it!

You, too, can feel this joy and love of God. If you reach out to Him and tell Him your needs, He will provide. Sometimes He works quickly, like He has done through this mission project, but sometimes He works slowly. God called me to international missions when I was twelve, and it took eight years for Him to call me out to the international field.  C.S. Lewis says, “There would be no sense in saying you trusted Jesus if you would not take His advice.” If you truly trust in Jesus you will follow Him where He leads you, even if at the time it seems impossible because you can do all things through Christ (Philippians 4:13).

“There would be no sense in saying you trusted Jesus if you would not take His advice.”

~C.S. Lewis

So what does scripture say?

  1. Philippians 4: 19 

    And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.                                                                                                                                          Through this project I am learning to trust God to supply my needs. When you follow God’s plan, He will provide. 

  2. Matthew 6:31-32 

    Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all.                                                              It is easy to get caught up in the world around you, especially if you are a planner, like me. Instead of trying to pin down every detail, take the time to pray to God and tell Him your needs, and He will provide. I am usually the person who over plans and stresses about getting everything in order, but God has shown me that I should not worry or doubt that He will provide. If I trust Him, and go to Him with my needs, He will supply them. 

  3. Jeremiah 29:11-13

    “For I know the plans I have for you”—this is the Lord’s declaration—“plans for your welfare, not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. You will call to Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.”                                                                                God has a plan mapped out for everyone. If we go to Him in prayer, He will listen, and if we seek Him, He will find us. When I sought out God this Christmas, I asked Him to connect me to a Christian community in Raleigh and to show me a way to get involved in missions, He provided just that. I prayed to Him and He heard my prayers. I sought Him, and He found me. 

  4. James 1:6 

    But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind.                                                          Doubt is a crippling thing. You must trust that God will meet your needs, and when you trust, God works in miraculous ways. When you put your faith in Christ, the impossible becomes possible. I could not have raised my support without trusting that God would provide and having faith that this project is a quest given to me by God. 

  5. Proverbs 3:5                                                                                                                                Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding          It is God’s will for you to trust in Him. Humans are limited. We have limited strength, endurance, intelligence. . etc. We can only do so much, but through Christ we can do impossible things. The first step is putting your trust in the Lord and forgetting your limitations. Your understanding is a small part of a bigger picture in the plans God has for you.
Leave a Reply

