Durham! Part 4

To commemorate my last day in the US, I have one more post about my time in Durham! It’s hard to believe that tomorrow I am heading out to Kenya! But before I talk more about that, let me update you on what’s been happing at City Project this week because God has been revealing a lot to me.

At the beginning of this week I asked God to wreck my week. I wanted Him to reveal my sin, teach me more about Himself, and mold me to be more like Him. Learning these things can be painful, but I wanted God to draw me closer to Himself before I left for Africa. So in this post you will learn more about how God used my suffering this week to reveal His truths.

Sessions 

Monday-RTB and Discipleship: 

Read the Bible 

This week at RTB we talked about 4 tips for Quiet Times before we read scripture using the OIA method (Observe, Interpret, Apply: read more in my other posts to learn about this method). 

  1. Meditate on Scripture-use the OIA method 
  2. Preach the Gospel to yourself- Remind yourself of Jesus’s sacrifice, and that your sins have been paid for on the cross. Read scripture to remind yourself of God’s love for you. (2 Corinthians 5:21)
  3. Submit Your Day to God-This is why quiet times are best done in the morning, so you can give your day to Christ and ask Him to use you throughout your day. (Galatians 4:20)

When we read the Bible on Monday, our passage came from Ephesians 6.

Ephesians 6:10-20

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm. Stand therefore, having fastened on the belt of truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and, as for your feet, having put on the readiness given by the gospel of peace. In all circumstances take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming darts of the evil one, and take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the  Spirit, which is the word of God, praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication.  To that end keep alert with all perseverance, making supplication for all the saints, and also for me, that words may be given to me in opening my mouth boldly to proclaim the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains, that I may declare it boldly, as I ought to speak.

Our table summarized this passage as saying: In God’s strength put on the whole armor of God which is given to you to fight spiritual battles. 

We all need to put on the armor of God every day, and reading this on Monday was a wonderful reminder of this! We especially need to put it on before we enter the international mission field, which is a spiritual war zone. I talked about the armor of God in my post before I came to CP, so if you would like to read more about it, click here!

Discipleship

Our discipleship session was on Multiplication and Suffering. We first talked about Multiplication. God loves when we multiply (disciples making disciples making disciples etc. ) This is referenced in scripture in many places: Genesis 1:28, Genesis 9:1, Exodus 1:7, Matthew 28:18-20. In order for multiplication to work, you need faith that God will multiply it. When Jesus fed the 5000, the disciples had to trust Jesus that there would be enough for everyone.

Jesus’s strategy for multiplying was to invest in the few to reach the many. He invested in 12 guys, but those 12 were able to go out and reach the world! When finding people who will multiply you want them to be faithful, available, and teachable. You want people whose lives you would want to be replicated.

Here are some steps on How to use your disciples to multiply:

  • Select who you want to invest in
  • Cast vision for multiplication from the very beginning
  • Help them pray through your list of people you want to know Christ
  • Help them make a prayer list for themselves
  • Get them discipling someone
  • Immediately get them sharing the gospel
  • Model a lifestyle of evangelism and investing in the few

For more check out: Acts 1:8, 2:47, 6:7, 9:31, 12:24.

We then talked about suffering and how it something that is promised to us.

Suffering . /ˈsəf(ə)riNG/ . noun

the state of undergoing pain, distress, or hardship.
The definition above is what you get when you google suffering. We talked about suffering as being when something you love has been taken away.

2 Timothy 2:2-3

and what you have heard from me in the presence of many witnesses entrust to faithful men who will be able to teach others also. Share in suffering as a good soldier of Christ Jesus.

When we are discipling others we are in spiritual warfare. Satan does not want us to tell others about Jesus, and He will do anything in His power to shut us down. We are never alone in our sufferings! Our suffering is a promise, and we have to fight to believe that God loves us. Satan will lie and tell you that God has turned His back on us, but the cross proves that God’s love for us is limitless. Jesus was abandoned by God on the cross, so that God will always be with us during our suffering! Healing is painful, and the things that hurt now will be used by God.

  1. Suffering is promised.
  2. We can rejoice in our suffering because God uses our suffering.
  3. The secret to fighting suffering is Christ.
  4. Suffering is temporary!
  • 2 Corinthians 4:16-18:   So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.
  • Philippians 4:11-13: Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.
  • John 12:24:Truly, truly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit.
  • Romans 5:3-5Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.
  • James 1:2-4: Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.
  • James 1:12: Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him.
  • Psalm 84:11: For the LORD God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor; no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless.
  • 1 Peter 4:12-13: Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery trial when it comes upon you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice insofar as you share Christ’s sufferings, that you may also rejoice and be glad when his glory is revealed.
  • John 16:33: I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.

This session really hit home. The last week have been sick with a very painful sore throat. At times I could barely swallow, and I had to force myself to eat. I tried really hard not to be miserable, but I found myself moping around a lot. It was hard to remember that even though I was suffering, God was going to use my sickness for His glory.

Tuesday-International 1

How will God use me in missions? 

This is the question were needed to ask ourselves during and after this session. Whether God uses us to stay at home at support those abroad, sends us on short term missions, or uses us to live for 10-15+ years overseas, God has called all of us to be a part of missions.

  1. God’s objective is clear.
  2. God’s plan is guaranteed.
  3. God’s method is mankind.
  4. God’s strategy is unstoppable.
  5. The Task is unfinished.

There are 7 billion people in the world, and 2.9 billion of those are unreached people groups. That means over half of the world’s population has never heard of Jesus. 20% of our population lives in Muslim countries, and only 4% of world trade comes from those countries. This means these people do not have access to that same jobs we do, and the most open cities are those which are trade based. We need to send people to these countries to share the gospel!

  1. God is Calling me to be with Him – Mark 3:13-15
  2. Each day is a success or failure based on how I walked with Him. If we walk with Christ we are successful even when everything around us is falling apart.

After the session we had a panel answer questions about the international mission field. This was made up of two guys who worked for the missions ministry at summit, and the Parker family, who just got back from living in Nepal for the last 10 years. Something the woman said at the end of the panel really stuck with me. She said sometimes God will strip us of what we are good at and use us in our weakness to depend on Him.

I had lost my voice for three days this week, was starting to get worried about it coming back before Kenya. I am supposed to help lead Worship next weekend, and I am supposed to lead a Bible study. Two of my gifts are teaching and music, and I could not use them without my voice. I was worried that I was going to be useless when we got to Kenya. These were all lies Satan was telling me to discourage me! God can use me despite my gifts! My power comes from God, not from my ability to sing or teach, and my relationship with God can never be taken from me! Even if I got over there and was mute, I would still be able to serve God and the people of Kenya! I would have never learned this if I had not lost my voice or gone through this sickness!

Wednesday-International 2

Wednesday we brought it someone to help us with International team bonding! We got to know our team a little more, and learned ways ask questions and go deep with others.

Thursday-International 3 

Thursday’s session was one how to be successful during our time overseas.

We need to ask ourselves, “How have you seen God work in and around you today?” 

Our Three Goals for International are:

  1. Learn to be with Jesus.
  2. Learn to serve each other.
  3. Learn to serve the nations.

Success is determined by walking with Jesus (even when we don’t feel like it).

10 Ways to Serve Our Teams: 

  1. Pray for and with your team mates daily.
  2. Assume the best about one another.
  3. Assume everyone needs to be encouraged everyday.
  4. Out do each other in service.
  5. Verbalize commitment and love for one another.
  6. Avoid gossip at all cost.
  7. Learn to say, “I’m sorry.”
  8. Be a self leader and use the words, “I need . . .” (be direct).
  9. Ask good questions and Listen!
  10. Embrace conflict!

How to Serve the Nations

  1. Serve the Field Partners
  2. Serve the City

We then talked more about logistics for our different trips, and were given reminders for what to bring.

Kids Week 

Ephesians 5:2

Walk in the way of the love, just as Christ loved us.Kids_Week.png

So kids week was this week! The them was Walk this Way. The whole building was decorated with a travel theme. I was a 1st grade small group leader, so I worked with two-three other people to guide a group of 14 first graders to each station: Snacks, Lesson, Games, and Crafts. Each station reinforced the lesson and the theme of walking in Christ’s love. This was an awesome week, and a Summit Kids does an awesome job of reaching out to families in the Raleigh-Durham area!

Health Update

So if you read my last update you saw that I had been sick. Even though my fever broke on Saturday, and I was able to go to church and play dodgeball Sunday, I still was feeling sick. My throat kept getting worse, and sometimes I could barely swallow. I also had lost my voice for three days. Thursday, after my internship, I decided to go get my throat checked out one more time before I going overseas. I went to the same clinic that I went to last weekend, and once again my strep test came back negative. The doctor recommended for me to go to an urgent care to see if they could help more. While at the clinic, my phone died, so I had to go all the way back to my apartment to look up a clinic on my computer, and write down direction on how to get there. On my way to urgent care, I realized I had left my insurance card and photo ID at Target. By the time I got back to Target to get my ID, I had to rush to the urgent care before it closed. Luckily I got there in time, and the doctor was able to make a diagnosis. He said it was most likely a bad virus, and my vocal cords were really swollen. He prescribed me something for the swelling and the pain, and I am now feeling much better (and my voice is starting to come back)! Thank you for all your prayers this week! Keep praying for me to continue healing, though!

Kenya
Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 6.26.55 PM

TOMORROW I LEAVE FOR KENYA! I can’t believe that tomorrow is the day! I will be in Kenya around 9pm (2pm NC time) on Sunday! During our time there we will be partnering with Freedom Global (previously Uhuru Child). You should really check out their website (click Freedom Global above) because they are an awesome ministry in Kenya! 

Uhuru Academy is only one portion of this ministry, and I can’t wait to get involved with what Freedom Global does to help Kenyans meet their needs physically and spiritually! “And I heard the voice of the Lord saying, ‘Who will go for us? Who shall I send?’  and I replied, ‘Send me!'” (Isaiah 6:8) My suitcase is packed, and I am ready to go!  .

Prayer Requests

  • Pray for safety as we travel tomorrow!
  • Pray that God prepares the hearts of those in Kenya so that we are able to share the gospel and/or disciple them!
  • Pray for the health of our teams!
  • Pray that God uses us to help our field partners!
  • Pray that God uses our struggles to help us grow!
  • Pray that we are able to be bold as we declare the gospel, and remember to put on the whole armor of God!
  • Pray that we focus on being with Jesus throughout our time in Kenya (or other various international locations)!

Thank you all so much for your support and prayers! I will hopefully be able to blog at least once while I am in Kenya! 

3 thoughts on “Durham! Part 4

  1. Pingback: Kenya | Leaps of Faith

  2. Pingback: 525,600 Minutes | Leaps of Faith

  3. Pingback: 525,600 Minutes | Leaps of Faith

Leave a Reply

