Second City

 

13775373_1227669817243405_8828696033075182189_n.jpg

Last February I met a stranger on a bus who invited me to the Summit Church. That same night I heard about a summer discipleship project called City Project The main mission of Summit College is to make disciples who make disciples. This was done when someone invited my (now) friend, who then invited me, and now I have encouraged others to do City Project or other missions.

Through City Project God answered so many prayers including giving me Christian community and teaching me how to serve Him locally, nationally, and internationally. I learned the importance of sharing the gospel with the nations (Matthew 28:19). I want to thank everyone who supported me last summer, and invite you all to support me in a new summer mission, Second City.

Matthew 28:19

Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,

Yesterday I participated in the Kick Off for Go Now Summer Initiatives through Summit College at the Summit Church. I will be living in South Asia for two months to share the gospel with unreached people groups and collaborate with field partners at church plants. You can read more about how to support me here. I want to share a little more about what we discussed and learned at the kick off. 

1 Corinthians 1:17

For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel–not with wisdom and eloquence, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.

During this passage Paul, a disciple of Christ, writing to a church in Corinth. During his lifetime he left home to share the gospel of Christ with the nations. At his church plan in Corinth, the people were arguing over who their leader was, and wanted the church’s name to be in whoever baptized them. Some claimed the church should be in Paul’s name because He helped start it. Paul’s letter to Corinth  included the passage above, 1 Corinthians 1:17. He tells the people that he was not sent to baptize them, but to share the gospel.

When I am living overseas this summer, my job is not to baptize or “save” people. My job is to first and foremost, be with Jesus, and to share the gospel. This is done through JESUS, not through me. Going to the nations to share the gospel is not my idea, nor is it through me. This is God’s plan, and it will all be done through Him. My only role is to be faithful in Christ. This is why I have decided to sacrifice my last summer as a college student to live on mission for God, because He is the most important thing in my life. I am going to South Asia because JESUS SENT ME to do HIS mission for HIS glory.

1 Corinthians 1:17-24

For Christ did not send me to baptize but to preach the gospel, and not with words of eloquent wisdom, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.

For the word of the cross is folly to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. For it is written,

“I will destroy the wisdom of the wise,
and the discernment of the discerning I will thwart.”

Where is the one who is wise? Where is the scribe? Where is the debater of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world? For since, in the wisdom of God, the world did not know God through wisdom, it pleased God through the folly of what we preach to save those who believe. For Jews demand signs and Greeks seek wisdom, but we preach Christ crucified, a stumbling block to Jews and folly to Gentiles, but to those who are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God.

One of the Summit College leaders described 1 Corinthians 1:17-23 as describing two types of people: those who are perishing and those who are saved.

Perishing– To these people the word of Christ is folly (foolishness, basically it sounds crazy). These people have been ruined, spoiled, and diseased by sin. Our leader described the perishing people to be like moldy sandwich cheese; it is beyond recovery. KEEP IN MIND THAT WE ALL START OUT AS MOLDY CHEESE. This irreversible damage can only be changed by divine intervention. Another way to think of it is like a stain that not even the newest Tide Detergent or the most powerful Bleach can remove.

Saved– To these people the gospel is powerIn order to be saved, you need two things.

  1. God SENDS someone to preach to gospel. We are blessed to be used in God’s mission.
  2. They HEAR the message of the cross and God gives them understanding.

God does not save unless we share the gospel. Our leader described it like the postal business. You can write a letter, but it won’t reach the person you are writing to unless you have a mailman deliver it. As disciples of Christ we are all called to be God’s mailmen/mailwomen. God wrote us a beautiful love story, and it is our job to share that love story with everyone we know, including the nations. This summer I am taking my postal service across international waters to share the greatest love story ever written with unreached people in South Asia in obedience to God’s commission.

Second City is much more than a summer project, it is a summer long contribution to God’s global mission.

Goals for Second City:

  1. Be with Jesus everyday. This is how we measure success!
  2. Love our teams. This is a beautiful way to demonstrate the gospel to the world.
  3. Serve the field. We need to serve our long term field partners as well as the people in our cities.

1 Corinthians 2:1-5

And I, when I came to you, brothers, did not come proclaiming to you the testimony of God with lofty speech or wisdom. For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. And I was with you in weakness and in fear and much trembling, and my speech and my message were not in plausible words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, so that your faith might not rest in the wisdom of men but in the power of God.

It is also important to remember that I am not preaching the gospel in my own strength! I am sharing this through God’s strength. This is a demonstration of the power of God! I could do none of this without Him! While this summer will be challenging, I know that living for Christ is far more satisfying than living for myself.

Prayer

  • Please pray for me to be with Jesus everyday.
  • Please pray for my team to be unified through Christ!
  • Please pray for our field partners in South Asia to have strength and spiritual wisdom.
  • Please pray for the people in South Asia to be willing to hear the gospel, and that God will understanding of the gospel.
  • Please pray for support raising. I need to raise $2000 by March 12, and my entire $4300 by April.

Thank you for all your support and prayers! Feel free to contact me with any questions about Second City or support raising! 

In Christ,

Alexis Chastain

 

One thought on “Second City

  1. Pingback: Support Update! | Leaps of Faith

Leave a Reply

